top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 011824 Be Happy!


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

January 18, 2024

Philippians 4:10-13

10 I was very glad in the Lord because now at last you have shown concern for me again. (Of course you were always concerned but had no way to show it.) 11 I’m not saying this because I need anything, for I have learned how to be content in any circumstance. 12 I know the experience of being in need and of having more than enough; I have learned the secret to being content in any and every circumstance, whether full or hungry or whether having plenty or being poor. 13 I can endure all these things through the power of the one who gives me strength.

Good Morning! Embrace the beautiful sunrise of another day!


Contentment is a hard thing to reach within our earthly constructs. From a very early age, we are taught to push to reach the top, and when you reach the top, you see that this is the first pinnacle of many for which you should strive. This drive is good because it helps us persevere through our challenges while working to reach our goals.


However, there is a fine line between reaching the top and allowing this drive to overtake our lives. It is easy to become so preoccupied with your desire to achieve that everything else in your life suffers. You have no time for family, friends, or even your own well-being. In the worst-case scenario, you become driven by pride, arrogance, and ambition and don’t care how you reach your goal.


Have you ever had a time when you realized that your priorities were misaligned? Sometimes, we are so immersed in our goals that we need someone else to help us see ourselves for who we are.

The best way to avoid this earthly ambition trap is to realign ourselves with God first. If we purposely humble ourselves, choose to love God with all our heart, soul, strength, and mind, and love our neighbors as ourselves, we will see that our true goal is to mature in our faith and follow the path to eternal life. Over time, earthly things wane in value, but heavenly things never lose their value.


Paul teaches us, “I have learned the secret to being content in any and every circumstance, whether full or hungry or whether having plenty or being poor. 13 I can endure all these things through the power of the one who gives me strength.”


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. We get caught up in the rat race of earthly living. Help us gather heavenly treasures. In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.


Be Happy! God is With Us! Pastor Liz


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page