top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 011724 Shout to the Lord


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

January 17, 2024


Psalm 57:1-11

1 Have mercy on me, God; have mercy on me because I have taken refuge in you. I take refuge in the shadow of your wings until destruction passes by. 2 I call out to God Most High to God, who comes through for me. 3 He sends orders from heaven and saves me, rebukes the one who tramples me. Selah God sends his loyal love and faithfulness. 4 My life is in the middle of a pack of lions. I lie down among those who devour humans. Their teeth are spears and arrows; their tongues are sharpened swords. 5 Exalt yourself, God, higher than heaven! Let your glory be over all the earth! 6 They laid a net for my feet to bring me down; they dug a pit for me, but they fell into it instead! Selah 7 My heart is unwavering, God my heart is unwavering. I will sing and make music. 8 Wake up, my glory! Wake up, harp and lyre! I will wake the dawn itself! 9 I will give thanks to you, my Lord, among all the peoples; I will make music to you among the nations 10 because your faithful love is as high as heaven; your faithfulness reaches the clouds. 11 Exalt yourself, God, higher than heaven! Let your glory be over all the earth!

Good Morning! O God, let your glory be over all the earth!


4 My life is in the middle of a pack of lions . . .


We live among the evil that seems to expand its grasp every day. The evil that permeates our social media exhibits the ability to devour humans, and their teeth are spears and arrows; their tongues are sharpened swords. It’s as if David is prophecying about our time and place.


For our outcasts, needing, sick, and especially our impressionable youth, it is a scary, difficult time. I can’t imagine trying to exist in the middle of a pack of lions without the strength, mercy, and power of God, yet so many have turned their backs on God. They see organized religion as another example of great corruption and assume that if some churches are corrupt, then all must be. They read about our division and in-fighting and seek other sources of community.


God created us to live in relationships. In our moments of despair, a bad, hurtful relationship is better than no relationship, so the connections are made until we spiral out of control. As those who are called, we must share the Good News as we sing God’s praises. Get out the tambourines and lyres to reawaken the weary, broken people so that all will know God’s glory.


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. We allow others to live in darkness. Wake us up so we can share your gifts with those who are without them. In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: God is our refuge, especially when we are the most vulnerable.


Sing and Shout for joy! God is with us! Pastor Liz


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page