top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 011324 Read! Study! Live!


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

January 13, 2024


Psalm 119:97-104

97 I love your Instruction! I think about it constantly. 98 Your commandment makes me wiser than my enemies because it is always with me. 99 I have greater insight than all my teachers because I contemplate your laws. 100 I have more understanding than the elders because I guard your precepts. 101 I haven’t set my feet on any evil path so I can make sure to keep your word. 102 I haven’t deviated from any of your rules because you are the one who has taught me. 103 Your word is so pleasing to my taste buds it’s sweeter than honey in my mouth! 104 I’m studying your precepts that’s why I hate every false path.

Good Morning! Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.


As a student, I have had times where I needed to fully immerse myself in my reading materials and information for a class. After a few days of this, I could feel my confidence rising, and I began to eat, sleep, and drink the subject matter. When it came time to take the final exam, I felt fully prepared to explain and demonstrate my knowledge of the subject.


The Bible presents God’s plan for us as recorded by the prophets and those with whom he entrusted sharing the story. When we immerse ourselves in the messages presented, we become comfortable eating, sleeping, and drinking God’s word. Our final exam for life is a lengthy dissertation that encompasses our faith journey.


The Good News is that when we make a mistake or stray from our path, we do not have points deducted from our score; we are given as many chances as it takes to get the right answer. We also have our own personal trainer and cheerleader, the Holy Spirit, helping every step of our journey.

Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. Thank you for giving us the tools needed so that we can find our way to You. In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: My faith grows stronger when I make time for God and scripture.


Take time to read God’s word! Pastor Liz


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page