top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 011024 God is in Control


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

January 10, 2024

Ephesians 3:14-21

14 This is why I kneel before the Father. 15 Every ethnic group in heaven or on earth is recognized by him. 16 I ask that he will strengthen you in your inner selves from the riches of his glory through the Spirit. 17 I ask that Christ will live in your hearts through faith. As a result of having strong roots in love, 18 I ask that you’ll have the power to grasp love’s width and length, height and depth, together with all believers. 19 I ask that you’ll know the love of Christ that is beyond knowledge so that you will be filled entirely with the fullness of God. 20 Glory to God, who is able to do far beyond all that we could ask or imagine by his power at work within us; 21 glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus for all generations, forever and always. Amen.

Good Morning! Rejoice! Pray continuously! Give Thanks in all situations!


It has been an interesting week thus far. I began my week in a service of reawakening as we came together as a family of God to renew our baptisms. On Monday, I shared my year in ministry with the District Council on Ministry for my annual “conversation.” This conversation brought great blessings to me. With such an auspicious start, I was eagerly anticipating my trip to Indiana to visit family.


Well . . . , then came the monsoons on Tuesday. I awoke to the news that my flight was being delayed and heard that all the schools in the area were closed for the day. Hmmm! Very long story short, I did not fly yesterday. I’m sure I was much safer on the ground than in the air. I was able to change my tickets to fly from Richmond this morning. I carefully drove to Richmond in the pouring rain, but the silver lining was that I got to spend time with Alex, Carmen, kids, and of course, Neon. I am now sitting, awaiting my flight to Chicago and Indy.


As the day began, I decided that I was going to purposely focus on what was good and take stock of all the positive things. I shared in a text prayer chain that set a tone of peace and joy for my day. We began with Dear Father, take this day’s life into Thine own keeping. Control all my thoughts and feelings. Direct all my energies.


I have had crazy travel days in the past where, by the end of the day, I was so spent from all the worry and anxiety. What a difference this made in my journey. I didn’t get frustrated with the overworked flight agents who were doing their best to help. I had a good night’s sleep and now I’m getting ready to visit family. Thanks be to God, who takes care of our needs when we turn them to him.


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. Help us see the wonder and joy in every day. In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: Our prayerful requests profess our faith in God.


Let God control our thoughts and feelings! Pastor Liz


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page