top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 010924 God is Available to All


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

   January 9, 2024


Psalm 16:1-11


1 Protect me, God, because I take refuge in you. 2 I say to the LORD, “You are my Lord. Apart from you, I have nothing good.” 3 Now as for the “holy ones” in the land, the “magnificent ones” that I was so happy about; 4 let their suffering increase because they hurried after a different god. I won’t participate in their blood offerings; I won’t let their names cross my lips. 5 You, LORD, are my portion, my cup; you control my destiny. 6 The property lines have fallen beautifully for me; yes, I have a lovely home. 7 I will bless the LORD who advises me; even at night I am instructed in the depths of my mind. 8 I always put the LORD in front of me; I will not stumble because he is on my right side. 9 That’s why my heart celebrates and my mood is joyous; yes, my whole body will rest in safety 10 because you won’t abandon my life to the grave; you won’t let your faithful follower see the pit. 11 You teach me the way of life. In your presence is total celebration. Beautiful things are always in your right hand.


Good Morning! Bless the Lord, O my soul!


By the grace of God, we are protected from our enemies and ourselves. We receive continuous pokes and prods through the Holy Spirit to help us find our way. God speaks to us in the quietness of the night and assures us that we are loved. 


During our earthly walk, God gives us free will that allows us to learn and grow in faith. Sometimes, we make choices that send us into the shadows and darkness. As we feel our way through these times, God is there waiting for us to ask for help. God will reach out to keep us from stumbling. 


Even when we reject God and we fall, God offers to lift us from the pit we have formed around us. Despite our sinful ways, God never gives up on us. We only have to ask, and God will make himself known to us. God offers hope, peace, joy, and love to all who believe.


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. We make poor choices, and then we struggle. Thank you for being there to rescue us from our sins. In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: God will faithfully guide me.


Ask God for guidance! Pastor Liz


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page