top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 010724 Great is Our God


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

January 7, 2024

1 Kings 17:7-16

7 After a while the brook dried up because there was no rain in the land. 8 The LORD’s word came to Elijah: 9 Get up and go to Zarephath near Sidon and stay there. I have ordered a widow there to take care of you. 10 Elijah left and went to Zarephath. As he came to the town gate, he saw a widow collecting sticks. He called out to her, “Please get a little water for me in this cup so I can drink.” 11 She went to get some water. He then said to her, “Please get me a piece of bread.” 12 “As surely as the LORD your God lives,” she replied, “I don’t have any food; only a handful of flour in a jar and a bit of oil in a bottle. Look at me. I’m collecting two sticks so that I can make some food for myself and my son. We’ll eat the last of the food and then die.” 13 Elijah said to her, “Don’t be afraid! Go and do what you said. Only make a little loaf of bread for me first. Then bring it to me. You can make something for yourself and your son after that. 14 This is what Israel’s God, the LORD, says: The jar of flour won’t decrease and the bottle of oil won’t run out until the day the LORD sends rain on the earth.” 15 The widow went and did what Elijah said. So the widow, Elijah, and the widow’s household ate for many days. 16 The jar of flour didn’t decrease nor did the bottle of oil run out, just as the LORD spoke through Elijah.


Good Morning! This is the day that the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.


There are so many interesting facets to this story. This woman isn’t whining or complaining to Elijah about her situation. She is simply stating a fact. We have only enough flour and oil to prepare a final meal for me and my son. We will eat it, and then we will die.

Interestingly, God tells Elijah that he has ordered a widow to take care of him in Zeraphath, but this woman seems to know nothing of this request. Is it the wrong widow Elijah calls out to, or has God not revealed the calling to the widow?


Despite her desperation, she listens and does what Elijah says. Maybe she thought, “What do I have to lose? We’re going to die anyway.” It is possible that she did not know about God’s mercy, or maybe she believed she was unworthy to receive it. Either way, she did as Elijah asked, and the flour and the oil amounts never ran out.


We are called to serve others from what we have been given. When our supplies are low, it is easy to become selfish and refuse to share, but we are called to give what we have, and God will provide for our needs.

Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. For those who believe, you provide what is needed. Help us believe in our times of doubt. In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: God will provide for my needs in God’s way.


Keep the light burning brightly! Pastor Liz


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page