top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Morning Devotional 010623 Seek the Light of Christ


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

January 6, 2024

Psalm 55:1-8, 16-19

1 God, listen to my prayer; don’t avoid my request! 2 Pay attention! Answer me! I can’t sit still while complaining. I’m beside myself 3 over the enemy’s noise, at the wicked person’s racket, because they bring disaster on me and harass me furiously. 4 My heart pounds in my chest because death’s terrors have reached me. 5 Fear and trembling have come upon me; I’m shaking all over. 6 I say to myself, I wish I had wings like a dove! I’d fly away and rest. 7 I’d run so far away! I’d live in the desert. Selah 8 I’d hurry to my hideout, far from the rushing wind and storm. 16 But I call out to God, and the LORD will rescue me. 17 At evening, morning, and midday I complain and moan so that God will hear my voice. 18 He saves me, unharmed, from my struggle, though there are many who are out to get me. 19 God, who is enthroned from ancient days, will hear and humble them Selah because they don’t change and they don’t worship God.

Good Morning! Happy Epiphany!


Speak! God is listening!

2 Pay attention! Answer me! I can’t sit still while complaining.

This verse caught my attention this morning. I’m reminded of times when I’m so anxious that I can’t sit still. At that moment, we want to know that someone is listening to us even though we make it hard on those trying to be there for us because we can’t stop moving.


It’s like a comedy sketch where one person is very worried about something. He/she is pacing all over the room, even the house, ranting or moaning about the impending problem. Those trying to support this person follow him/her around but struggle to keep up. The person with the anxiety stops and says, “Why isn’t anyone listening or helping me?”


There are times when we are like that with God. We get so caught up in our worries that we forget that God is beside us, waiting for us to stop and listen. God tells us, “Don’t worry! I’ve got this!” No matter how many times we read or hear that God is waiting to receive all of our worries, we struggle to turn them over. Let go and let God!


Gracious God, Thank you for this beautiful gift of life. We have turned worry into an art form. Please help us to let go and let your peace replace our worries. In the name of Jesus, we pray. Amen

Thought for the day: Release your anxiety! God is waiting!


On this day of Epiphany, seek the light! Pastor Liz


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Morning Devotional 051724 Reboot Your Operating Systrm

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 17, 2024 John 16:7-11 7 But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not co

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page