top of page
Search
  • lizpetry

Daily Devotional 121722 Gather in Love


Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room

December 17, 2022


Read Matthew 15:21-28


21 From there, Jesus went to the regions of Tyre and Sidon. 22 A Canaanite woman from those territories came out and shouted, “Show me mercy, Son of David. My daughter is suffering terribly from demon possession.” 23 But he didn’t respond to her at all. His disciples came and urged him, “Send her away; she keeps shouting out after us.” 24 Jesus replied, “I’ve been sent only to the lost sheep, the people of Israel.” 25 But she knelt before him and said, “Lord, help me.” 26 He replied, “It is not good to take the children’s bread and toss it to dogs.” 27 She said, “Yes, Lord. But even the dogs eat the crumbs that fall off their masters’ table.” 28 Jesus answered, “Woman, you have great faith. It will be just as you wish.” And right then her daughter was healed.

Good Morning, This is the day that the Lord has made! Let Us Rejoice!


As my family prepares to gather today, I sit and remember some of our gatherings throughout the years. Over time, the cast changes. I think of when I was one of the young one at the table. What simple and beautiful times those were. Then I remember the crazy days when I was a young parent with three little ones to manage. In the blink of an eye, I am one of the older ones and my children have children of their own. Time, the ever-moving cog of our lives, pushes us forward.


Within our hopes and dreams, we see our families as they ebb and flow. Members go to be with God and others are just beginning their earthly walk. Through faith, we know that one day we will all be reunited and enjoy feasting together at the heavenly banquet table. Our faith is what sustains us through our days. Through Christ, our loved ones are as close as the very breath we breathe.


We speak and God speaks to us through prayer. Don’t worry about your words for the Holy Spirit intercedes on our behalf when we can’t create the words. Share your thoughts and concerns with our Creator. Each prayer is a precious time that allows us to come together as a family. As your families gather this holiday season, thank God for all of your blessings.


Gracious God, Thank You for loving us. We celebrate the coming our Your Son. You are an awesome God. Thank you! In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen


Thought for the day: My prayers sustain my loved ones and strengthen me.


Join together with prayer! Pastor Liz


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Morning Devotional 052024 Love One Another

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 20, 2024 Luke 10:25-37 25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit

Morning Devotional 051924 Our Advocate is Here

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 19, 2024 Acts 2:1-4 1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a vio

Morning Devotional 051824 God Reveals Our Path

Liz’s Morning Devotional: Scripture selected from Upper Room May 18, 2024 Psalm 16:7-11 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. 8 I keep my eyes always on the L

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page